Event: Qasida and Ginan Mehfil featuring Dr. Ali Asani and Talented Global Ismailis Hosted by Ginanguru.com

After a successful first episode last month (April 26, 2020), Ginanguru is excited to host a second episode of their Virtual Qasida and Ginan Mehfil on May 17, 2020. This episode will feature brand new set of recitations and talented Ismaili reciters from all over the world including: the USA, Canada, Pakistan, Syria, South Africa, UK, Saudi Arabia, UAE, and the Netherlands.

AliAsaniwithHI

A very special guest, Dr. Ali Asani of Harvard University will give the welcoming remarks for Episode 2. Dr. Asani is a Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Cultures and Religion and designed and taught Harvard University’s first course on Ismaili History and Thought. One of his most notable publications, Ecstasy and Enlightenment, analyzes common themes in Ginans as well as the contexts in which they were written.

The “LIVE” video presentation will be supplemented with the text and translation of each Qasida and Ginan on screen for easy access to follow/sing-along from the comfort of your home.

Eventpart2

Presentation will go “LIVE” on YouTube and on Facebook on Sunday, May 17, 2020:

YouTube: Virtual Qasida and Ginan Mehfil

Facebook: Virtual Qasida and Ginan Mehfil

Facebook Event Page (RSVP + Invite Friends and Family): https://facebook.com/events/s/virtual-ginan-mehfil-episode-2/246960566383218/?ti=icl

TIMING:

Vancouver: 10:30 AM

Houston: 12:30 PM

Toronto: 1:30 PM

London, Lisbon: 6:30 PM

Nairobi, Syria, Moscow: 8:30 PM

Karachi: 10:30 PM

Mumbai: 11:00 PM

To convert to your local time zone click here.

Pic1

In December 2015, @ginanguru was started as an instagram account with the mission of making Ginan translation more accessible to the youth and younger generations of our Jamat. The account posts daily translations of hand-picked Ginan parts for easy to consume content.

Be sure to follow @ginanguru on Instagram to get the translation of a Ginan verse in your feed once a day: https://instagram.com/ginanguru

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

One thought

  1. The Firman is outstanding @As you Live your Imam. Etc The world has influenced the World in a very minute manner here is the Diamind jubilee blessing try to I presume

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.