Online Event | Association for the Study of Ginans: Are Ginans Islamic or Hindu?

Keynote Address by Dr. Karim H. Karim, Chancellor’s Professor, Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada

Are ginans Islamic or Hindu? This question, which arises from time to time, reflects the view of religions as existing in separate compartments. However, intersections between faith traditions occur around the world and knowledge is shared in the timeless quest for spiritual truth. The Qur’an asserts the presence of divine guidance across various religions.

The Ismaili movement has sought insight in the Middle East, Central Asia, South Asia, and beyond. Its Indian manifestation, Satpanth, is one of the sub-continent’s several pluralist traditions, including those expressing Sufi, Sant, Bhakti, and Sikh modes of spiritual search. Despite their distinct characteristics, they have been open to interaction – sharing knowledge and devotional materials.

Satpanth’s core beliefs are founded on Shia Islamic concepts. Its ginans articulate Ismaili principles in Indic languages, music, and symbols. Like other pluralist traditions in India, Satpanth has drawn from mythological and cosmological knowledge that is integral to South Asian spirituality. Ginans flourish at the religious cross-roads of the sub-continent, the Middle East and Central Asia. This liminal space is rich and dynamic: it is integrative of traditions and worldviews, generative of art and thought, and nourishing of spirituality. It is a site of the human quest for truth that narrow notions about religion cannot confine.

Date: Saturday, December 17, 2022

Zoom Connection: https://tinyurl.com/2sru2w7j

ID: 915 011 8939
Passcode: asg22

Time:
India: 9:30 p.m.
Pakistan: 9 p.m.
East Africa: 7 p.m.
Dubai: 1 p.m.

GMT: 4 p.m.
EST: 11 a.m.
CT: 10 a.m.
MT: 9 a.m.
PST 8 a.m.

Books by Karim H. Karim
Diaspora and Media in Europe: Migration, Identity, and Integration  
Re-Imagining the Other: Culture, Media and Western-Muslim Intersections 
Engaging the Other: Public Policy and Western-Muslim Intersections
The Media of Diaspora
Islamic Peril: Media and Global Violence

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.