2021 Global Pluralism Award Finalists

The Global Centre for Pluralism announced 10 finalists for the 2021 Global Pluralism Award, an honour that celebrates excellence in the field of pluralism. The Award is presented once every two years to individuals, organizations and governments around the world for exemplary achievements in building more inclusive societies where diversity is protected.

“The Centre is inspired by the creativity and resilience of this year’s finalists, whose achievements offer tangible, inspiring examples of the power of pluralism in today’s world,” said Meredith Preston McGhie, Secretary General of the Global Centre for Pluralism. “Amidst troubling global trends of division and reduced civic space, these finalists are doing incredible work to raise awareness, build connections, and change minds, narratives, and structures.”

The Global Centre for Pluralism received 500 nominations spanning 70 countries for the 2021 Global Pluralism Award. Nominees undergo a rigorous review process and are selected by an independent, international jury of experts from disciplines related to pluralism.

“Pluralism is a description of the respect, co-operation and shared purpose which make communities work,” said the Right Honourable Joe Clark, former Prime Minister of Canada, and Jury Chair. “These finalists have made a remarkable contribution to pluralism. They show originality and courage in dealing with challenges of injustice, inequality and exclusion in today’s world.” 

In Afghanistan, the Dominican Republic, Kosovo, Israel, India, Kenya, Hong Kong, Canada, Malawi, and globally—the 2021 finalists have made extraordinary strides to advance pluralism through education, community building, socio-economic development, and the arts.

“Pluralism is what will bind us together and help us maintain our diversity and our communities,” said Kim Ghattas, Emmy-Award winning journalist and Juror of the 2021 Global Pluralism Award. “The Global Pluralism Award reminds us of the incredible work that so many people are doing to advance pluralism across the globe. The sheer courage of these finalists is humbling and gives me a lot of hope.” 

Three Pluralism Award winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony in February 2022. Each winner will receive a prize of CAD $50,000 to further their work in support of pluralism.

Source: Global Pluralism Award

2021 Global Pluralism Award Finalists. Source: Global Pluralism Award (YouTube)

About the Global Centre for Pluralism
The Global Centre for Pluralism is an independent, charitable organisation founded by His Highness the Aga Khan and the Government of Canada. The Centre works with policy leaders, educators and community builders around the world to amplify and implement the transformative power of pluralism.

What a wonderful, liberating thing it would be if more of us, more of the time, could see diversity not as a burden, but as a blessing; not as a threat, but as an opportunity.”
His Highness the Aga Khan
Global Centre for Pluralism

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.