The Ismaili Centre, London Presents: Asians of Africa in the Twentieth Century – A remarkable story still to be told

In an animated conversation, two East African scholars: an anthropologist and Swahili playwright, Dr Farouk Topan and Dr Mohamed M. Keshavjee, Lawyer, Cross-cultural mediation specialist and short story writer, discuss the “Wind of Change” era in Africa.

Based on the book “Diasporic Distractions” a work of fiction written by Mohamed M Keshavjee, the conversation brings out the major forces that shaped that period and which had an impact on the Asian minority across the continent. These included rapid urbanisation, restructuring of post-colonial society, cancellation of trade licences and work permits, emigration to the Western world, resettlement and adaptation due to acculturation.

According to Dr Topan, “history gets captured through 4 main ways: writing of memoirs, academic papers, genealogical studies by individuals and families, and fiction. These short stories, though fiction, tell it how it was”.

Watch on the.ismaili/tv on Wednesday, September 2 at 8PM (British Standard Time),12pm (PT),1pm (MT), 3pm (ET)

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.