Backgrounder: Honourary citizenship bestowed upon his Highness the Aga Khan

On June 19, 2009, on the advice of the Government of Canada, the House of Commons voted to bestow Honourary Canadian Citizenship upon His Highness the Aga Khan in recognition of His Highness’s leadership as a champion of development, pluralism and tolerance around the world and of his remarkable leadership as Imam of the worldwide Shia Ismaili Muslim community.


Only four other people have been granted honourary Canadian citizenship:

* Aung San Suu Kyi, imprisoned Burmese democracy advocate and Nobel laureate (2007).
* Tenzin Gyatso, the current and 14th Dalai Lama (2006).
* Nelson Mandela, anti-apartheid activist and former President of South Africa (2001).
* Raoul Wallenberg, Swedish diplomat
noted for his actions during the Holocaust (1985, granted posthumously).

Author: ismailimail

Independent, civil society media featuring Ismaili Muslim community, inter and intra faith endeavors, achievements and humanitarian works.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.