Event – March 28 | Aga Khan University – E​ast African Institute​, Nairobi, Kenya| East Africa Youth Dialogue

This seminal dialogue is convened to debate and reflect on the results of a research survey of East African youth. The survey focused on issues that are core to shaping a young person growing up in East Africa.

In essence, the aim of the survey was to understand in depth and from the youth the issues which, shape who they are today and hence provide a basis for understanding what kind of adults they might become.

EAC-MAPEVENT: East Africa Youth Dialogue
DATE: Saturday, March 28, 2015
TIME: 8:30 to 1:30 PM Local Time
VENUE: Kenyatta International Convention Centre, Nairobi, Kenya

We are bringing together youth leaders to participate in a unique dialogue forum to debate and reflect on key issues that significantly determine how youth see and intervene in the society.

These issues include: identity; self-esteem; civic engagement and political participation; ethics; role models; hope, fears and aspirations; family; faith; health; and education.

Via Aga Khan University | East Africa Youth Dialogue

Find out more on events at Aga Khan University

About the E​ast African Community – One People One Destiny

East African Community EAC - member countries flags The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, the United Republic of Tanzania, and the Republic of Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The Treaty for Establishment of the East African Community was signed on 30 November 1999 and entered into force on 7 July 2000 following its ratification by the original three Partner States – Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda. The Republic of Rwanda and the Republic of Burundi acceded to the EAC Treaty on 18 June 2007 and became full Members of the Community with effect from 1 July 2007.

The EAC aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit. To this extent the EAC countries established a Customs Union in 2005 and a Common Market in 2010. The next phase of the integration will see the bloc enter into a Monetary Union and ultimately become a Political Federation of the East African States

The realisation of a large regional economic bloc encompassing Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda with a combined population of more than 130 million people (2010*), land area of 1.82 million sq kilometres and a combined Gross Domestic Product of $74.5 billion (2009*), bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects of a renewed and reinvigorated East African Community.

The negotiations for the East African Monetary Union, which commenced in 2011, and fast tracking the process towards East African Federation all underscore the serious determination of the East African leadership and citizens to construct a powerful and sustainable East African economic and political bloc.

via East African Community

All Related to Upcoming Events



subscribe ismailimailBe the First to Know – Join Ismailimail

Get breaking news related to the Ismaili Imamat, the world wide Ismaili Muslim community and all their creativity, endeavors and successes.

Inspired? Share the story

Want to inspire? Send us your story(s) at ismailimail@gmail.com

Subscribe and join 20,000 + other individuals – Subscribe now!

All Related to Aga Khan University:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.